#2874 JSON Usage

Nick Sun 21 Aug 2022

Hello all.

Brand new Fantom user so forgive me if the question is elementary. Excited to learn but currently going through the early stage bumps of learning a new language. My background is mostly in Julia, some in Python, and very basic Java for context.

I'm struggling to understand the proper usage of the JsonInStream functionality.

I have an API that is returning a hierarchical dataset something like this:

{"ResultSet": {
 "total": 1,
 "offset": 0,
 "limit": 100,
 "pages": 0,
 "size": 1,
 "metadata": null,
 "Results": [
  {
   "dto": "TableX",
   "dtoState": "UNMODIFIED",
   "fields": {
   	    "assetTag": "10001",
    "description": "0001-HVAC-AHU-2B",
    "statusCode": "ACTIVE"
    }
   }
  ]
 }
}

(Pardon the brace misplacement, MD was fighting me for some reason)

I am using the following where c is a WebClient being used for the request

data := JsonInStream(c.resIn).readJson

To do what I think is assign the Fantom object representation to a variable and this works but when I try to index into this object by

data["ResultSet"]

I get

ERROR(9): No operator method found: sys::Obj? [ sys::Str ]

I've used

Str:Obj? data := JsonInStream(c.resIn).readJson

and this will let me index into the first level via

data["ResultSet"]

but after that I run into the same issue.

What am I missing in the usage here that is leaving me unable to access any lower level data in this response?

brian Sun 21 Aug 2022

You are on the right track, but just need a few more casts.

The readJson method returns an Obj? because it could be a JSON object (which is a Fantom Str:Obj), or it could be a JSON array (Fantom list), or it could just a be a scalar value like Str, Float, or Bool. So its up to you to cast each level of the JSON tree based on your data.

Probably what you want is something like this:

// top level is a map
top := (Str:Obj?)JsonInStream(c.resIn).readJson

// result set is also a map
resultSet := (Str:Obj?)top["ResultSet"]